#author The trap of seeing the world from the internet.


I’ve lived in London several times and never took to it. And like many people living in their own countries I didn’t go to local attractions seen by overseas visitors. I tried going into the British Museum but didn’t get farther than the foyer because of all the tourists. Unable to face them indoors  – they’re bad enough outdoors – I never ventured back.

In the early days of my foray into Twitterland I followed the British Museum and occasionally retweeted globally important and culturally significant tweets; the Sunken Cities being one of them.

This evening I realised what I’ve been doing, so to get myself out of the trap of seeing the world from the internet I’ve stopped following the museum. (Who are those people who believe that all the Twitter travel accounts are genuine?)

I  might one day even venture farther than the foyer.

 

About S.A. Aslam

Author
This entry was posted in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

