#author Too close to the story and the temporary catharsis of #writing.


It’s all very well walking in a mile in your characters’ shoes but I feel as though I’ve twice walked round the world in them. I’m editing the last two pages of the MS for my second book and it’s taking me a long time just to get through a paragraph. Still, I’m nearly there.

After this revision I’m looking forward to getting out of their shoes and standing well back so that when I put them back on again they’ll feel nearly new – and I’ll have a more objective view of their lives.

This is linked to another problem; namely that the author can be too close to the story (in that they know first hand about some of the problems the characters face). There is a cathartic effect of writing down experiences but after several revisions it has worn off and I find myself grappling with their dilemmas each time I edit a page.

Once I’ve finished this revision I’ll return to my third book which I started between revisions last year. I’ve already written some 9,000 words and have to insert three of four pages of typed scrappy notes. Now that will be cathartic.

 

 

 

 

 

About S.A. Aslam

Author
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

