#authors: Producing a body of work too quickly can be “exponentially complex”.


I believed that having a body of work, aka oeuvre, was central to an author making their name, and I still do. However, yesterday’s chat with publisher Lulu.com’s senior marketing consultant made me reflect – so much so I woke up this morning thinking about his words.

He said that creating a body of work can be “exponentially complex” which I think means that if my second book is published too quickly it could lessen the profit value of the first and also of itself. And also with the publication of a third book and so on. In this respect it’s lucky that there’s not much chance of that happening. I think I’m going to manage just one book a year.

I’m also still wondering if my first book Gentlemen’s Agreement and Other Stories will make sufficient impact. It’s up against hundreds of thousands of books and to make matters worse, with just five stories and 40,000 words, it’s a “slim” book. Then again, they do say that the best things come in small packages; I just have to wait and see.

On the upside the “exponentially complex” aspect is good news for those who, like me, haven’t churned out a book every three months.

About S.A. Aslam

Author
This entry was posted in Publishing Experiences and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

