Life in a small town after a big city


Eating dozens of own-brand packs of crisps (potato chips) and ‘jaffa cakes’ and tripling my intake of cheap coffee nearly every day would suggest that I am bored. Admittedly I sleep better here but today’s activities have hit rock bottom. I:
– walked ten minutes to a supermarket to buy more of the above biscuits (cookies) and some salad
-looked at Twitter, got angry at hashtags
– drank a mug of coffee
– ate a couple of slices of bread and cheese
– ate the above biscuits
– looked at Twitter
– drank a mug of coffee
– turned on the television (indication that I really need to get a grip – but more of that in a later post)
– Twitter
– watched television
– looked out of the window at the bins below (it’s really interesting: you should try it)
– closed the curtains because of the daylight on the screen
– watched television
-marvelled at the few minutes of sun that came through my window
– opened the curtains
– typed up about three lines of the MS of my second novel
– closed the curtains because someone opposite is cleaning their windows
– ate half a cucumber
– Twitter, got angry at hashtags
– ate some slices of cheese
– ate some sultanas, bread and cheese, mug of coffee (one is usually my maximum)
– I’m now on cherry tomatoes
– confessing on my website.
I actually have a lot that I want to do but instead I seem to have become immobile despite being aware that I’m wasting my hours. I’ve also stopped doing my morning stretches and I’m pretty certain I’ve put on about a stone (14 pounds). After writing this post I’ll have a shower for some heat, and then watch John Wayne for the first time in years (he’s on now but  the volume is turned down).
My routine is in a sorry state. Perseverance is needed; after all I’ve only been here for nine nights.
My one consolation is that I never stop thinking about my MS and I keep scribbling down thoughts etc when they occur.
In the meantime I’ll just check what time the nearest supermarket closes…

About S.A. Aslam

Author
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

