Look after your brain


I receive a ‘motivation’ quote every day in my email account and several on Twitter and occasionally I think of a few wise words of my own but, while it’s good to have a nudge every now and then, there’s hardly been a change in my behaviour.
I still haven’t cleared all my notes or started writing again. Nor am I doing the things I want to do, seeing the places I want to see, and being with the people I want to be with etc.
This morning I woke up with a lightbulb moment. I know this ‘realisation’ isn’t unique and I also know Rohn, Robbins, Proctor, et al are owed a lot of the credit, but there’s nothing like a person realising the truth of their own situation, or as in my case a predicament.


The truth being that my mind is working 24 hours a day sending my stress levels sky high, but since June my brain has been working for perhaps one hour a day or on most days no hours at all. (It wasn’t exactly overworked before June).
This reminds me of a time in my life when I was surrounded by faddy people who did not value the human brain but kept talking about feelings. (I wonder where that fashion came from).
Even though I like using my brain I’ve hardly ever used it, in fact I’ve spent most of my life using my mind so much that it’s gone into overdrive and I’m surprised it hasn’t burnt out. I was occasionally told ‘You’re thinking too much’ and I mistakenly thought that it wasn’t such a bad thing to do because at least I was using my brain. However my mind was, and in all honesty probably still is, working much harder, so my brain never put my ideas and wants into action.
This week has not been the best but this morning’s ‘realisation’ thankfully brought some relief – perhaps by discovering and watching Fit2Stitch on YouTube last night, not because I’m a seamstress (something else I haven’t achieved), but because my brain was engaged.
The ‘realisation’ is that I have to focus on keeping my brain active and push its boundaries. At the same time I have to watch out for the moments when my mind is in motion and tell it to be still.
I know, it’s not exactly rocket science.
I’ve just had tuna for lunch and hope I will always make a conscious effort to look after my brain.

 

About S.A. Aslam

Author
This entry was posted in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

