Focus, brain workout, routines


Losing focus on the task in hand is a waste of my time, and I only realise how many opportunities I’ve lost after a few weeks or even months (years?). My environment is definitely not helping me as I’ve said so many times before but that’s going to change soon. But do I always have to depend on my environment? Working from an office provides a different atmosphere geared towards helping people achieve tasks, but it’s a different matter  working from home. If my mine is wandering than I mustn’t be happy with the way things are.

I should be writing everyday but I’m not. I used to until I moved back to the seaside. Some people feel the need to ‘get away from it all’ in order to find ideas  but clearly I’m not that kind of a person. Not only do I know how my current story is going to unfold I also have ideas from the following three stories and possibly a fifth. So I keep making notes which are now all in a mess.

 

Losing focus has terrible results yet I’m increasingly losing control of my ability to focus on a particular task for long periods of time especially in this town.  Practice makes perfect, I suppose. Normally distractions are the culprits but I don’t seem to have enough distractions. I stopped watching television a few years ago although I use the internet every day.

It’s probably a matter of training or retraining my brain to pay attention to something for longer and longer periods of time. Maybe I need to take my brain to the gym and I don’t think I need to pay any membership. So, until I move, I’m going to try to write for just five or ten minutes a day – small tasks – which is better than writing for no minutes at all. And set out a rough timetable for when I’m going to check Twitter, emails, and perhaps write down ideas / drafts for blogs.

Routine goes part of the way to solve problems of focusing, and hopeful energy and momentum will follow.

About S.A. Aslam

Author
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

